This past week, the state of Illinois passed legislation — via House Bill 1438 — to legalize adult-use cannabis by a vote of 66-47. In January of 2020, consumers can start purchasing recreational marijuana from retailers. By 2022, there could be more than 295 cannabis retailers.

The legalization of cannabis is rarely motivated solely by politics. It’s neither a left or a right issue, a Republican or Democrat debate. For the most part, it’s always been about facilitating legitimate medicine and adjusting outdated laws.

How did Illinois legislators vote? That’s a great question.

Here is the answer via voting log published by the Chicago Tribune.

Be sure to register for our 2019 ChiCannabis Expo, Sept. 19 & 20 at the Donald J. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Ill. 

Illinois Senate votes

 YES1Antonio MunozD-Chicago
 YES2Omar AquinoD-Chicago
 YES3Mattie HunterD-Chicago
 YES4Kimberly A. LightfordD-Maywood
No vote5Patricia Van PeltD-Chicago
 YES6John J. CullertonD-Chicago
 YES7Heather A. SteansD-Chicago
 YES8Ram VillivalamD-Chicago
 YES9Laura FineD-Glenview
 YES10John G. MulroeD-Chicago
 YES11Martin A. SandovalD-Chicago
 YES12Steven M. LandekD-Bridgeview
 YES13Robert PetersD-Chicago
 YES14Emil Jones IIID-Chicago
Present15Napoleon Harris IIID-Harvey
 YES16Jacqueline Y. CollinsD-Chicago
 YES17Elgie R. Sims Jr.D-Chicago
 YES18Bill CunninghamD-Chicago
 YES19Michael E. HastingsD-Tinley Park
 YES20Iris Y. MartinezD-Chicago
 YES21Laura EllmanD-Naperville
 YES22Cristina CastroD-Elgin
 YES23Thomas CullertonD-Villa Park
 YES24Suzy GlowiakD-Western Springs
NO25Jim OberweisR-Sugar Grove
NO26Dan McConchieR-Hawthorn Woods
 YES27Ann GillespieD-Arlington Heights
 YES28Laura M. MurphyD-Des Plaines
 YES29Julie A. MorrisonD-Deerfield
 YES30Terry LinkD-Vernon Hills
 YES31Melinda BushD-Grayslake
NO32Craig WilcoxR-McHenry
NO33Donald P. DeWitteR-St. Charles
No vote34Steve StadelmanD-Caledonia
NO35Dave SyversonR-Rockford
 YES36Neil AndersonR-Andalusia
NO37Chuck WeaverR-Chicago
Present38Sue RezinR-Morris
 YES39Don HarmonD-Oak Park
 YES40Toi W. HutchinsonD-Olympia Fields
NO41John F. CurranR-Downers Grove
 YES42Linda HolmesD-Aurora
 YES43Pat McGuireD-Joliet
NO44William E. BradyR-Bloomington
NO45Brian W. StewartR-Freeport
 YES46David KoehlerD-Peoria
NO47Jil TracyR-Quincy
 YES48Andy ManarD-Bunker Hill
NO49Jennifer Bertino-TarrantD-Shorewood
 YES50Steve McClureR-Springfield
NO51Chapin RoseR-Mahomet
 YES52Scott M. BennettD-Champaign
 YES53Jason A. BarickmanR-Bloomington
NO54Jason PlummerR-Edwardsville
NO55Dale A. RighterR-Mattoon
NO56Rachelle CroweD-Glen Carbon
 YES57Christopher BeltD-Cahokia
NO58Paul SchimpfR-Waterloo
NO59Dale FowlerR-Harrisburg

Illinois House votes

 YES1Aaron M. OrtizD-Chicago
 YES2Theresa MahD-Chicago
 YES3Luis ArroyoD-Chicago
 YES4Delia C. RamirezD-Chicago
 YES5Lamont J. Robinson Jr.D-Chicago
 YES6Sonya M. HarperD-Chicago
 YES7Emanuel Chris WelchD-Hillside
 YES8La Shawn K. FordD-Chicago
 YES9Arthur TurnerD-Chicago
 YES10Jawaharial WilliamsD-Chicago
 YES11Ann M. WilliamsD-Chicago
 YES12Sara FeigenholtzD-Chicago
 YES13Gregory HarrisD-Chicago
 YES14Kelly M. CassidyD-Chicago
 YES15John C. D’AmicoD-Chicago
 YES16Yehiel M. KalishD-Chicago
 YES17Jennifer Gong-GershowitzD-Glenview
 YES18Robyn GabelD-Evanston
 YES19Robert MartwickD-Chicago
Present20Michael P. McAuliffeR-Chicago
 YES21Celina VillanuevaD-Chicago
No vote22Michael J. MadiganD-Chicago
 YES23Michael J. ZalewskiD-Riverside
 YES24Elizabeth HernandezD-Cicero
 YES25Curtis J. Tarver IID-Chicago
 YES26Kambium BucknerD-Chicago
 YES27Justin SlaughterD-Chicago
No vote28Robert RitaD-Blue Island
 YES29Thaddeus JonesD-Calumet City
 YES30William DavisD-Homewood
NO31Mary E. FlowersD-Chicago
 YES32Andre ThapediD-Chicago
 YES33Marcus C. Evans Jr.D-Chicago
 YES34Nicholas K. SmithD-Chicago
 YES35Frances Ann HurleyD-Chicago
 YES36Kelly M. BurkeD-Evergreen Park
NO37Margo McDermedR-Mokena
 YES38Debbie Meyers-MartinD-Olympia Fields
 YES39Will GuzzardiD-Chicago
 YES40Jaime M. Andrade Jr.D-Chicago
NO41Grant WehrliR-Naperville
NO42Amy GrantR-Wheaton
 YES43Anna MoellerD-Elgin
NO44Fred CrespoD-Hoffman Estates
 YES45Diane PappasD-Itasca
 YES46Deb ConroyD-Villa Park
NO47Deanne M. MazzochiR-Elmhurst
 YES48Terra Costa HowardD-Glen Ellyn
 YES49Karina VillaD-West Chicago
NO50Keith R. WheelerR-Oswego
NO51Mary Edly-AllenD-Libertyville
NO52David McSweeneyR-Barrington Hills
 YES53Mark L. WalkerD-Arlington Heights
NO54Thomas MorrisonR-Palatine
NO55Martin J. MoylanD-Des Plaines
 YES56Michelle MussmanD-Schaumburg
 YES57Jonathan CarrollD-Northbrook
 YES58Bob MorganD-Deerfield
 YES59Daniel DidechD-Buffalo Grove
 YES60Rita MayfieldD-Waukegan
 YES61Joyce MasonD-Gurnee
 YES62Sam YinglingD-Grayslake
NO63Steven ReickR-Woodstock
NO64Tom WeberR-Lake Villa
NO65Dan UgasteR-Geneva
 YES66Allen SkillicornR-East Dundee
 YES67Maurice A. West IID-Rockford
NO68John M. CabelloR-Machesney Park
NO69Joe SosnowskiR-Rockford
NO70Jeff KeicherR-Sycamore
NO71Tony McCombieR-Savanna
 YES72Michael HalpinD-Rock Island
NO73Ryan SpainR-Peoria
NO74Daniel SwansonR-Alpha
 YES75David A. WelterR-Morris
 YES76Lance YednockD-Ottawa
 YES77Kathleen WillisD-Addison
Present78Camille Y. LillyD-Chicago
 YES79Lindsay ParkhurstR-Kankakee
NO80Anthony DeLucaD-Chicago Heights
 YES81Anne Stava-MurrayD-Naperville
NO82Jim DurkinR-Western Springs
 YES83Barbara HernandezD-Aurora
 YES84Stephanie A. KifowitD-Oswego
 YES85John ConnorD-Lockport
 YES86Lawrence Walsh Jr.D-Elwood
NO87Tim ButlerR-Springfield
NO88Keith P. SommerR-Morton
NO89Andrew S. ChesneyR-Freeport
NO90Tom DemmerR-Dixon
NO91Michael D. UnesR-East Peoria
 YES92Jehan Gordon-BoothD-Peoria
NO93Norine K. HammondR-Macomb
NO94Randy E. FreseR-Red Bud
NO95Avery BourneR-Raymond
NO96Sue SchererD-Decatur
NO97Mark BatinickR-Plainfield
 YES98Natalie A. ManleyD-Joliet
NO99Mike MurphyR-Springfield
NO100C.D. DavidsmeyerR-Jacksonville
NO101Dan CaulkinsR-Decatur
NO102Brad HalbrookR-Shelbyville
No vote103Carol AmmonsD-Urbana
NO104Michael T. MarronR-Fithian
NO105Dan BradyR-Bloomington
NO106Thomas M. BennettR-Gibson City
NO107Blaine WilhourR-Beecher City
NO108Charles MeierR-Okawville
NO109Darren BaileyR-Xenia
NO110Chris MillerR-Oakland
 YES111Monica BristowD-Godfrey
 YES112Katie StuartD-Edwardsville
 YES113Jay HoffmanD-Swansea
 YES114LaToya GreenwoodD-East St. Louis
NO115Terri BryantR-Murphysboro
NO116Nathan D. ReitzD-Steeleville
NO117Dave SeverinR-Benton
NO118Patrick WindhorstR-Metropolis

Follow Cannabis Industry Marketplace on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

This article was first published on

Write a comment:

Your email address will not be published.