Marijuana has been in the decriminalization process since 1973 with many states over the years passing laws to either authorize the use of marijuana or prohibit it. It is time to stop treating marijuana like a deadly drug, when science and public opinion agree that it is relatively safe for adult recreational and medical use. With recreational and medical marijuana on the verge of nationwide legalization, marijuana growers and dispensaries are popping up everywhere.
Cannabis Industrial Marketplace is here to lessen your stress level by being the go to place for all your needs in the industrial world of cannabis. Visit our website CannabisIMP.com to find all the equipment you’re looking for.
In 2008 Michigan voters approved a measure that would bring relief to patients with certain medical conditions, in the form of medical marijuana. In order to become a medical marijuana patient in Michigan, individuals must visit a state-approved doctor who will prescribe treatment for any one of the following medical conditions:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Chronic Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Nail Patella
- Severe Nausea
- Wasting Syndrome
Michigan state laws states that patients/caregivers are not permitted to cultivate an amount greater than 12 cannabis plants. In addition, they are restricted to possessing 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis buds. The term usable means marijuana buds that are not drying or curing. The plants must also be in an enclosed and locked facility, when cultivated indoors. When grown outdoors the plants must not be visible from ground level or from any permanent structure (i.e. a second-story house). Michigan also allows medical marijuana patients from outside states to use cannabis for medical purposes. Caregivers must be of at least 21 years old and are not permitted to provide medicine for more than 5 patients.
Any questions, comments or concerns about the medical marijuana laws in Michigan can be directed to one of the following agencies:
- Michigan Medical Marihuana Program
- Michigan Medical Marijuana Association
While Michigan allows the use of medical marijuana, they are definitely not very friendly when it comes to recreational use. Possession of any amount of marijuana can result in misdemeanor charges, up to a year in jail and a $2,000 fine. Possession in a park is a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the amount, that holds up to 2 years incarceration and a $2,000 fine. The simple use of marijuana is a misdemeanor that can result in 90 days in jail and a $100 fine. Drug classes may also be awarded by the judge.
Delivery of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor with up to a year in jail and $1,000 in fines. Sale of under 5 kilograms is a felony that can result in 4 years in prison and $20,000 in fines. Sale of 5 to 45 kilograms is also a felony with up to 7 years behind bars and $500,000 in fines. More than 45 kilograms is a felony offense that will land a person in prison for 15 years with an outrageous $10,000,000 in fines! Again, that is ten million dollars in fines.
The cultivation of under 20 plants is a felony offense with up to 4 years behind bars and $20,000 in fines to pay. 20 to 200 plants is also a felony with 7 years in prison and $500,000 in fines. Any amount of plants grown over 200 is a felony with 15 years behind bars and again, $10,000,000 in fines. Penalties for hash and concentrates are the same as marijuana.
This article was first published on https://www.cannabisimp.com.